Don’t Believe In Yourself

“Just who the hell do you think I am?!”
http://www.zerochan.net/172049

Dear Readers,

Wizard here.  I thought, post election wrap up, that there were some interesting theories circulating during the inevitable come down off of victory highs and defeat depressions.  And it got me thinking some.  I saw a lot of finger pointing, which isn’t uncommon before or after or during an election.  Fingers just get pointed all the time.  And some of it makes sense.  Sure, Republicans are going to have to change tactics to remain viable in an electorate that is increasingly made up of people they have traditionally demonized or blamed for problems as a way of motivating their own base.  Yes, the Democrats are going to have to find some backbone otherwise they’ll never be leaders, merely the “lesser of two stupidities”.  But during all of this, other questions were bouncing around in my head; questions that didn’t have anything to do with who sits in the White House for four more years.  I had questions about what this elections cycle reveals about humanity, and on a very personal note, what it teaches us about what it means to be human.

Now, that may sound a little lofty, and I agree, it is perhaps a little bit melodramatic.  But you know what?  Life is boring when you aren’t melodramatic a little.  I was sitting around being melodramatic with my questions, and wondering who was right and wrong in their strategies and further WHY I was feeling so disheartened about the future when I ran across a very interesting post on facebook.  It was an image which was addressed to Mitt and Paul, the Republican ticket, and it opened my eyes to what was itching about this whole situation.  Here it is:

You might not be able to read it, but if you can, did you catch the move here?  This woman, while acknowledging that she has real problems with Mitt Romney, Paul Ryan, and the Republican agenda at large, focuses her reasoning not on what she voted AGAINST, but what she voted FOR.  And this struck me like a lightning bolt.  It resonated in my being, and when I read it, it was like tasting fresh water for the first time in weeks.  Was it partisan?  Oh sure.  Was it inflammatory?  Yep.  But you know what else it was?  It was honest about who this woman is.  There, at the very tail end of all the political infighting and mud slinging and super PAC assassination attempts, was a woman who did what I wished the candidates would do all along.  It is a little hard to explain without an example, so here is a little video with a character the completely embodies the spirit of what I am about to propose.

Don’t believe in yourself.  Believe in the me that believes in you!”

The above video is from an anime called Gurren Lagann.  It is a mecha anime about the seemingly arrogant and idiotic Kamina and his sidekick Simone.  But the facebook image had a very Kamina quality to it, that inspired me to write this blogpost.

You know why I tear up when Kamina gives his speeches?

Because I know who he is.  I can reach out and touch the essence of his being.  And more than that, in knowing who he is, Kamina gives a strength to his beliefs about others, which in turn gives them a strength to follow their own dreams.

I think, politics aside (because they are just a reflection of us anyway), too often in our lives what we forget is the power of knowing who we are.  Not just a bunch of labels we’ve picked up like College Graduate, or Republican/Democrat, or Hipster, or Geek, or Pagan, or Queer.  But to really know what it means to be who we are.  If you pay attention to Kamina, close attention, what you see is that Kamina lives by a code, a certain idea he has for what it means to be a “Man”.  This isn’t just a label.  For Kamina, this code is what is most important, because in honoring himself as a Man, he gains an immense power over the circumstances he is surrounded with.  It isn’t necessarily what is right or wrong in a situation for Kamina, because often that is a muddy affair; what is important is the idea he has created for himself of what it means to be a good man.  The highest good for Kamina is to be true to the best version of himself, and to be able to look back at every situation, no matter the outcome, with no regrets at all.

And something else which fascinates me about Kamina is that he doesn’t ever try to force his own code on others.  Rather, he tries to encourage others to discover their own codes and live true to themselves.  He seems to think that if everyone really made a conscious decision about who they were and what they were going to live true to, the world would work itself out.

I think this is what I am going for when I say I am a Wizard.  Is it ridiculous?  Of course it is!  Whoever heard of a modern Wizard?

Well…except of course…you.

You’ve heard of one now haven’t you?  If you were walking down the street and someone was talking about wizards (for whatever reason) you could turn and say, “Hey, I Know a wizard.”  And that makes me happy.  I’m still working out what that really means entirely, but for me so far, it means that I stand FOR something, not against anything.  And I like the way that makes me feel.  It makes me feel strong and free.  It is something I think the election season and the dramatics of what was at stake made me forget.  I forgot that it doesn’t really matter what the challenges I face are.  What matters is that I know who I am.  And if I know who I am, the rest is pretty simple.  Ultimately, it doesn’t matter what fight you’re in if you don’t know who you are.

What I propose is that we all take a little dose of Kamina in the coming weeks, to cleanse ourselves of the election aftertaste and really give us back some inspiration.

As Kamina would say, “Just who the hell do you think I am?!”

I guess the question I have to ask myself daily is: Just who the hell do I think I am?

And the question I’m hoping everyone who reads this starts asking is: Just who the hell do YOU think YOU are?

Thanks for reading!

-Wizard

PS: I miss you, Thunderbear.  The above video is for you.  I’m me, and I can’t thank you enough for giving me the ability to say those two words and mean them.

Leave a Reply

