Drawing Circles

The Library's orphaned children, huddled in the cold night beside my bed...

The Library’s orphaned children, huddled in the cold night beside my bed…

Dear Readers,

A circle is an interesting shape.  It is so simple, so vital, and yet somehow the creation of a circle eludes me.  I suppose I should have thought to myself, as I picked up the jigsaw tonight, “Self…if you couldn’t draw the circle on the desktop using a pencil, what makes you think that you will be able to draw it using a highly powered vibrating powertool while the unaffixed desktop threatens at every moment to bounce off it’s braces and topple to the ground?”

I did not, however, think that.  I thought to myself…sure!  Why the heck not?  LET’S GO FOR IT!

Pics after the jump.

As many of you may know (and before you start in on me YES, I am working on my Thanksgiving special post and hope to trot it out in a timely fashion for the Christmas holiday), I am currently working on a house.  Not simply a house, but a complete and total renovation from the ground up.

Back up.  About 2 years ago, when I was with who I thought at the time would be my life partner, we decided we were tired of living together in a single room efficiency, and wanted to build a home.  A friend of ours happened to need to offload a very very old and very, very rotten single wide mobile home.  We picked it up for a song, and using some windfall, decided to gut and remodel the trailer.  The result was some rather amusing stories, some great difficulty, and the creation of a completely new home, down to the wiring, the floor joists, and the insulation even.

I am now, on my own, choosing to finish this trailer.  I suppose you could say I got it in the divorce.  I have had some very good friends helping me, because as all of you know, I am not the most handy man on the planet.  However, a few days ago I had a rush of triumph when I was able to assemble a “from scratch” book case all by myself.  So now, with a fresh sense of ownership and confidence, I decided tonight to “jig” out my wave desk top while paint was drying on my bookshelves.  The result follows:

.

.

Window box!  And also desk...

Window box! And also desk…

IMG_20121214_021717

The leg...we call the leg the Gimli Stick, because it is a tough ugly stick.  The desk fell OFF the wall cleats and had to pivot and dance ontop of that leg to fall down.

The leg…we call the leg the Gimli Stick, because it is a tough ugly stick. The desk fell OFF the wall cleats and had to pivot and dance ontop of that leg to fall down.

Happy little circle, as imagined by a chipmunk with down syndrome..

Happy little circle, as imagined by a chipmunk with down syndrome..

Actually, this one didn't come out terribly.

Actually, this one didn’t come out terribly.

The damage done.

The damage done.

But such is life!  We move on.  Anyone got some good ideas on how to salvage this mess??

Leave a Reply

